The Glory of Winning

“Soldiers generally win battles; generals get credit for them” – Napoleon Bonaparte

This is a bitter pill to swallow for a person with a strongly held belief that people should only be recognized for actually doing something and that recognizing people who did not do anything but just exist and hold a position, is rewarding bad behavior.

However, after working for 3 companies for a while, I have been a witness to how true the above quote is.  I posted the above status in Facebook yesterday to remind myself of this fact all the while hoping that I get the “serenity to accept things I cannot change”.

At the end of the day, there are really two kinds of people in the workplace: those who work and those who take the credit.  I keep reminding myself that  I would always want to be in the first group; there is less competition there and I get to keep my self respect. 🙂

The above quote may have unintentionally struck a chord for some people.  It did for me because it keeps me realistic; it reminds me of the realities of life.  It’s no use railing against this fact and after thinking about it, it’s not important enough that I would want to take the lead in changing this “institution”.  As they say, “pick your battles!” If people get their pleasure out of receiving accolades regardless of how it came about, then good for them!  As I always say, to each his/her own.  Live and let live.  No one owes anyone an explanation. 🙂

Leave a Reply

